Energy Security Council - Serving Global Energy - Premier Energy Security Networking Organization
About Us

John Chamberlain, Executive Director and Mindy Voag
Executive Assistant

ESC is managed by Executive Director John Chamberlain.  John retired from Shell Oil in 2006 as Director of Corporate Security.  John has over 30 years experience in the oil and gas industry and also has an extensive background in law enforcement.  John currently serves as the Assistant Chief for the Reserve Division of Precinct 4 Constables office.

ESC Mission Statement

"Protecting the energy industry from emerging threats through a unique public private partnership of operating companies, law enforcement, academia, and security industry partners.”

Who We Are & What We Do

ESC has been a leader in energy security education and networking since 1982.  We have members from across the United States with heaviest member concentration along the Gulf Coast area.

The purpose of ESC, a non-profit international professional, networking organization composed of Corporate, Company, Individual and Law Enforcement members representing the energy sector, is to:

  • develop opportunities for a meaningful exchange of ideas, information and best practices on energy security.
  • create and enhance international/national networking capabilities on security within the energy sector and key partners.
  • identify key security issues affecting the energy industry and share innovative and proven best practices.
  • enhance the safety, security and business operations of its members, companies, corporations and their associates.

ESC prepares its membership for the new opportunities created by the globalization of the world economy by conducting quarterly meetings and annual conferences for the improvement and education of its members and to enhance business acumen. 

ESC collaborates with various intelligence services, governmental agencies, academic institutions, international associations and law enforcement agencies in order to provide a diverse and complete review of global, regional and local issues.

As a non-profit association, ESC is dependent upon the participation of volunteer industry leaders for guidance in the formulation and administration of quality programs and services. These dedicated individuals donate their time and energy to the prosperity of ESC by serving on the Board of Directors. ESC would like to recognize and thank them for their commitment to excellence.

    • Chairman Mitch Price, Vice President & Chief Security Risk Officer-Cheniere Energy, Houston, TX   
    • Vice Chairman Brian Cook, Regional Manager of Americas- Chevron Global Security, Houston, TX
    • Rob Ream, Director Global Security - Helmerich & Payne Inc., Tulsa, OK
    • Jim Denman, Loss Prevention Advisor - EOR Resources, San Antonio, TX
    • Darin Dillon, Business Development Manager- Convergint Technologies, LLC -  Houston, TX
    • Tim Foley, Director of Risk Management Services -  ATHOS Group - Irving, TX
    • Mike Peters, Global Security Manager- Lewis Energy Group -  San Antonio, TX
    • David Rainwater, Manager of Global Security & Emergency Response - Murphy Exploration & Production Company - Houston, TX
    • Jason Taylor, Regional Director, DPS - Houston, TX
    • Larry Satterwhite, Assistant Chief, Houston Police Department - Houston, TX
    • Wayne Wicks, President-Wayne Wicks Security Advisors - Houston, TX
    • Rick Williams, Global Security Manager-Chevron Phillips Chemical Company - Houston, TX
    • Mark Dawson, Special Agent in Charge - Homeland Security Investigations - Houston,TX
    • Thomas Bello, Americas Regional Security Director - Exxon Mobil Corporation - Spring, TX
    • Michelle Draxton, Manager Generation Security Services & Investigations -Exelon Corporation - Kennett Square, PA  
                bod picture.jpg

Pictured :Brian Cook,  Mike Peters, Mark Dawson, David Rainwater, Jason Taylor, John Chamberlain, Mitch Price, Rick Williams, Rob Ream, Tim Foley, Larry Satterwhite, Darin Dillon, Tom Bello, Jim Denman. Not Pictured: Wayne Wicks and Michelle Draxton.